Sketch-It

Plein-air pen and wash on paper

Monday Morning Paintout

Leave a comment


Today, Lantzville’s Huddlestone Park was on the P.A.N. agenda. Although it was a beautiful September morning, Gerda and I were the only ones to come out. I was sitting across the road from this little heritage church building with a large broad-leaf maple tree in fall colours; could not have choreographed this setting any better myself if I tried.

Lantzville Church

Lantzville Church

People passing by thought that I was sitting along the road in my comfortable fold-up lawn chair doing a traffic count; it did not bother me.

Cars come and go and so do people; they were all there at one time though and you have to be quick to get them sketched before they disappear. I make it a habit to leave a blank space in my sketch at the beginning in anticipation of something tangible showing up, particularly if the layout requires a break in the long horizontal line towards to bottom of the picture.

Author: John Hofman

my email is jhofman@telus.net Website: johnhofman.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

