Sketch-It

Plein-air pen and wash on paper

View from the Studio

1 Comment


Although I consider the outdoors as my studio we found a new space to work while protected from the weather. It is on the third floor of an office building in the downtown area and within walking distance from  our apartment.

The first thing I tried is to draw the view from the window using a dip pen and brown ink for #inktober.  This is what was used when I started to learn drawing in school many years ago. It is messy and takes some getting used to.

Buildings and roofs fill one’s frame when looking out the window.

wp-1475866175459.jpg

View from the Studio looking North.

I decided to stay with rather dull brown shades for the wash reflecting my mood and that of the subject. Some of the buildings look out of plumb; this was unintentional. Whenever possible I slide one finger of the hand holding the pen along the edge of the paper to get a perfectly straight and vertical line for the side of buildings. However the watercolor wash buckles the cheap paper used here, which is picked up by the lens of the camera, thus duplicating the deformities.

Author: John Hofman

my email is jhofman@telus.net Website: johnhofman.wordpress.com

One thought on “View from the Studio

  1. I love to paint but I’ve never been good at sketching. This is awesome:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

