Sketch-It

Plein-air pen and wash on paper

View from the W.E. Mills Dock.

1 Comment


Today I positioned myself at the end of the long concrete dock in the Harbour looking back at the City. It does not provide the best view, but it is the only spot that was not blocked by visiting boats. It is mid summer but the bright sunlight is blocked by the clouds of smoke that is generated by the forest fires on the mainland.

Anyways, I was comfortably seated and enjoyed sketching the buildings, docks, boats etc. untill the wind picked up around noon and almost snatched my board out of my hand and into the drink.

I went inside to finish the pen drawing with watercolours, on a ‘one third’ sheet (10″ x 22″) 140 lbs. hot pressed paper.

I might have overworked this one a bit, but there is always next time.

Author: John Hofman

my email is jhofman@telus.net Website: johnhofman.wordpress.com

One thought on “View from the W.E. Mills Dock.

  1. Maybe the dock side could be darker to show off the boats better? I like the format.

    Like

Leave a Reply

